Steps In Mommyhood

Adventures of a First Time Mom

Knowing My Limits

I have never been one of those people who do well with limitations. I can do anything, be anything, etc. That’s what I was told growing up and it was drilled into me. Going into this pregnancy, I knew I was going to need to accept my limits. Being told not to push myself “too hard” was something I brushed of with a quick “yeah, yeah” as I went about my business.

I’ve managed to maintain a 4.0 GPA in my graduate school program, work my regular full time job at the law firm, work my part time job as an editor for an amazing author, have time for family and friends, and grow this little guy. How’s that for limitless?

Now, as my belly grows at a rather exponential rate and I’m sure I will be birthing a planet, I am forced to accept that I do, in fact, have limits. The walk from the train to work each day and back is one I now I to take at a snail’s pace, allowing my obliques, ligaments, and other fun bits and pieces to calm and slow the burn. As a back sleeper, I have accepted side sleeping with a pillow between my legs as a Godsend and look forward to the easing of a day’s pain through that heavenly horizontal snuggle with my Leachco Back ‘N Belly Contoured Body Pillow.

Food was the quickest adjustment for me, though, much to my surprise. Some of my favorite foods are sushi with raw fish, over-easy eggs, and moo-ey beef – but giving those up has been an easy task. I have my days when I have a craving, but I’ve already gone this long.

Maybe that’s what it means to be limitless – accepting that we are creating this tiny human with our seemingly fragile bodies and realizing what we can really do. Limits aren’t about changing a diet, taking things slow, and admitting when you need help with something… I’m growing a baby. I know my body will tell me when I’m doing too much, and I’m practicing being a better listener.

Leave a Reply

