Steps In Mommyhood

Adventures of a First Time Mom

Momma’s Soft-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

My last recipe post, Momma’s Special Brownies, was a huge hit for everyone, not just moms. With this in mind, I decided to continue on my lactation promoting food journey. This time I jumped aboard one of my favorites–chocolate chip cookies. Mmmm. There’s nothing yummier for dessert than a nice, soft-baked chocolate chip cookie. I love the gooey chocolate chips, the sweetness of the brown sugar, and the chewy middle surrounded by a tan edge. img_3025

Before having BabyJ, my go-to recipe was The Best Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies on Pinch Of Yum. I hunted down the perfect recipe a couple years ago and found these to be the best. I have this habit of never going 100% by a recipe, so I’m happy that these ones are pretty forgiving when altered. This time around, I made them mainly for the purpose of maintaining/increasing my breastmilk supply.** Don’t let this stop you from making them if you aren’t breastfeeding, though! As I said in the previous recipe, flaxseed meal and brewer’s yeast are both really great for you! Let’s revisit:

  • Flax is a great source of fiber, plant-based Omega-3s, and is a great source of lignans. Check out this post to see more in-depth information about Flaxseed! You can get flaxseed at your local grocery store. I got my flaxseed meal at Market Basket for a really great price.
    1. This is the one I use and I really like it!
  • Brewer’s Yeast is considered a probiotic and is a great source of protein, zinc, iron, and other vitamins and minerals. You can read more about BY over here! You can find BY at your local GNC and on Amazon.com.
    1. This is the one that I have.
    2. This one also looks pretty good.

The addition of brewer’s yeast and flaxseed meal are what really drive the milk production, at least for me. This is not a guaranteed result for everyone. I am not a medical professional or a scientist.**

Now… onto the recipe! (You can find some of the Amazon product links below.)


img_3003Momma’s Soft-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 18-24 cookies, pending the size you prefer.

Ingredients:

  • 16 tbsp salted butter, room temp
  • 1 cup  of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs, room temp, cracked into a separate bowl.
  • 3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal (LINK)
  • 2 1/2 tsp brewer’s yeast (LINK)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 cups of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips (LINK)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix room temp butter, white sugar, and brown sugar in a bowl until creamed. You will notice the texture and color changes to a lighter shade.
  3. Add vanilla and eggs and mix until just combined. Scrape sides of bowl. (I just got these spatulas and LOVE them.)
  4. Add flour, baking soda, salt, flaxseed meal, brewers yeast, and water. Mix until just combined into a dough. Scrape sides of bowl.
  5. Add mini chocolate chips and mix on low for a few spins until chips are dispersed throughout dough.
  6. Put bowl with dough into fridge to become cold. This will help prevent the cookies from spreading too much in the oven.img_3026
  7. Spoon dough onto parchment paper-lined baking sheet (or however you prefer to bake your cookies). I use two teaspoons to spoon out the dough. I tend to go for golf ball-sized dough rounds, six on a sheet.Put in the oven, bake for 9-11 minutes, pending your oven. (Tip: I set my oven to 9 minutes, check, and then put in for additional time if I think it needs more. I found 10 1/2 minutes to be the perfect time for these cookies in my oven.) These cookies are done for me when the edges are just turning tan/brown and the tops no longer shine.
  8. Let cookies cool completely before putting into a bag for storage. Eat as you please, though. They’re quite yummy warm.

Let me know what you think!! Comment below.

**Please note that there is no guarantee that this will help your supply or that the ingredients above will help you in any way. I am not a doctor, just a mom who wants to share what has helped for me.

4 Comments

  1. This looks so good and delicious!!! Will it be different if I don’t use yeast?

    Please visit or follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas : )

    Like

    • Hi! I just ate another one and might be a little addicted. The cookies won’t be noticeably different without the yeast. They may be a little bit sweeter, but that’s not a bad thing!

      I will definitely visit your blog. Thank you for stopping by here and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As the official house taste-tester (aka dad), I can vouch for the deliciousness of these cookies.

    Like

  3. Yum these look delicious! Thanks for sharing and can’t wait to see your A to Z posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

