Steps In Mommyhood

Adventures of a First Time Mom

(B) Burnout

BIt’s that feeling of heaviness. Dread for the next day or going to work. Resentment. Exhaustion. Lack of desire to do anything. Making more mistakes than normal. You’re like a campfire down to only small embers on big logs.burnout 3 nothing at all

I don’t like to admit it, but I’m burnt out. Being an unintentional stay at home mom has been a wonderful experience, surprisingly. I have loved these extra months at home with BabyJ, but they’re far more draining than I expected. I’ve felt work burnout. I’ve felt hobby burnout. Now I know a whole new level of burnout: mom burnout.

Burnout 1I am a stay-at-home mom, a pumper, an editor, a grad student, and (soon-to-be) back at work full time. Sure, I’m burnt out, at least a little bit. I try to change my scenery when I feel myself going down the burnout path, adding in small bits of exercise here or there, reaching out to family and friends for a pick-me-up, or picking up a book to bring me out of my funk.

The biggest thing I had to learn was… if I’m not at my best, I can’t provide my best. Heck, I can fake it til I make it, but it’s hard to fake being alert and aware. It’s hard to stay awake when my eyelids feel like they’re made of concrete. And it’s hard to be patient with myself when I’m running on empty. I found a great image online with AMAZING ideas to help work through burnout and take some time for you. Whatever reason for burnout, it’s important to take care of yourself.

Tell me your burnout stories! Did you ever make a mistake during a period of exhaustion? Have you had job burnout? Share your stories below and help inspire someone who may be in the same position.

Burnout 2 Take a break

Today’s post for the A-to-Z Challenge is brought to you by the letter B!

 

6 Comments

  1. Yes.. A nice topic on the letter B. True, sometimes we feel like burnout and we feel like empty. We get frustrated even on anything. It takes time and a need to take break and seek for calmness and peace. I also feel like burnout many times but I try to be calm and seek for happiness within.
    Thanks. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

  2. The poster was helpful. As a bad sleeper, I usually go through the day running on empty. I’m taking steps to change my lifestyle to see if I can improve my sleep. I’m hoping burn out will be thing of the past for me 🙂
    Fran
    @FranClarkAuthor
    Writing Women’s Fiction

    Like

  3. This is definitely a good post. We all need to make sure to take care of ourselves first. I lately have found myself juggling, two jobs, my blog and my hobbies. Finally I stepped back from the blog and one job to make time for myself.

    Like

  4. Hi there!

    I’m stopping by from the #AtoZChallenge. I think more people are experiencing burnout that ever before…myself included to a small degree. Interesting post.

    I have two blogs in this challenge…my author blog at THE STORY CATCHER (www.donnalmartin.com) and my KICKS Kids Club blog (www.kickskidsclub.blogspot.com.

    If you get a chance, check them out and good luck with the challenge!

    Like

  5. Both of my boys were… challenging babies. I remember walking ten minutes or so to the nearest shop to buy some milk first thing in the morning, and trying to pay with a muslin cloth which I had in my pocket. I had assumed that cloth in my sleep-deprived state to be my wallet… You’ve just gotta get through it, pull in whatever support network you can, and enjoy the good times when they come. They will come x

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge, fellow A-to-Z-er.

    Al from https://altheauthor.wordpress.com/

    Like

  6. An absolutely great post…! Taking a break is necessary. And being a mom is a full time job, that requires break!

    Ashmita Chatterjee
    (chaoticsoulzzz)
    Chaoticsoulzzz.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

