Steps In Mommyhood

Adventures of a First Time Mom

(D) Dad Jokes and Other Fun Things

D
Today’s post for the A-to-Z Challenge is brought to you by the letter D!

I feel like most of the posts I read A-dad-is-someone-who-holds-you-scolds-youin mommy groups these days are of women complaining about their husbands. While I’m sure some of these complaints are valid, I rarely see one I think, “Oh jeeze, what a terrible husband.” A recent one really frustrated me – a woman complaining that all her boyfriend got her for Valentine’s Day was a flower. Maybe it’s because we have never really been a crazy gift-reliant couple, though he does give some pretty thoughtful gifts. The greatest gift my husband and I gave each other is BabyJ.

dad husbandWith all the negativity I see toward significant others on the pages I’m on… I thought I’d share something positive. There’s still hope out there. If you find yourself with someone who makes you miserable, treats you wrong, or just doesn’t fit–There is someone out there.

I always knew how lucky I was to end up with my best friend. He’s always been an amaziwatching-your-husband-become-a-father-is-really-sexy-and-wonderful-403x403-nk9ovpng companion, partner, best friend, and husband… I had no doubt he’d be a great Daddy, too. Little did I know just how great a Daddy he’d be. Everything just clicked for him–he stepped in when I needed support during pregnancy, he talked me through my fears, and he was my rock during labor and delivery. Then seeing him hold our son… It was like that perfect company front during a marching band performance… Took my breath away. Hell, it still does.

Sure, he’s had the infamous Dad Joke perfected probably scheck balanceince he could talk, but that’s not a problem. Sometimes those jokes are actually pretty funny. Other times I just can’t help but roll my eyes at the cheesy puns. I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way, though. BabyJ will pick up on his daddy’s humor, I’m sure. Brian will have the perfect audience in our tiny tot, with me watching them both.

That’s something I look forward to–watching them grow together… Though, time can slow down just a little bit so I can enjoy the now. He’ll get to see his Daddy helping me around the house, with various errands and projects we have going on, and he’ll see that Daddy respects women. (Heck, he respects everyone, honestly.) I really can’t explain how important this is, especially these days.

I love our little family – Mommy, Daddy, baby, and two furry friends. Our unit works for us.

dad jokes dawned on me

 

What is your family like? Is there something your significant other does for you that you love? (I’m partial to the foot rubs, myself!)

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. jhwinterauthor

    My husband and I started out as great friends first. That is truly what has made our relationship so strong through our six years together (so far!). He is an amazing father to our 2 1/2 year old son, and still a great partner. We respect that we each have things we like to do in our free time, and they aren’t the same, but we are always in the same room with each other sprinkling conversation throughout. Now and again, we have a “date night” and sit back on the couch to take a break from our hobbies and work to watch a movie together and relax under our favorite blanket. Great post! Made me think of how lucky I am 🙂

    Like

  2. My wife will say she loves my massages. Good thing I love giving them just as much 🙂
    Open Minded Mormon A-Z

    Like

  3. We still do corny mom and dad jokes around the house. Keeps things light between us all.

    I’m exploring different types of dreams and their meanings.
    Stephen Tremp’s Breakthrough Blogs

    Like

  4. My husband gives great neck and back rubs. He also takes such great care of our furry children (dog and four cats) and that makes me love him even more! Enjoyed reading your blog through the A to Z Challenge. Keep up the good work! http://www.dianeweidenbenner.com

    Like

  5. Sounds like we are both blessed in the men department. And for me t is when he rubs my shoulder as it is hurting. Or just stands and holds me as I cry from missing my daughter who passed away, Or when I am working and I get so busy I forget to move and my back starts hurting and he walks up with a bottle of water and Advil for me. Even thought he is tired and hurting himself.

    Like

  6. Rhonda Eaton

    It is simply wonderful knowing I’ll love him more tomorrow than I do today; I know this because I love him more today than I did yesterday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

