Steps In Mommyhood

Adventures of a First Time Mom

(I) I Love You More

I

Today’s post for the A-to-Z Challenge is brought to you by the letter I!

When I was younger, I remember telling my mom that I love her. Her very quick and easy response was (and still is), “I love you more.” I’d argue lovingly with her Josh and my handsfor a while that it wasn’t possible, there was no way she could love me more than I  love her.

Up until a little over seven months ago I never really understood why she always says that. I never understood how she can possibly feel that way.

Up until a little over seven months ago I had never uttered “I love you more” and truly got it.

Now I get it.

I love him more. With every bit of my being, I love him more than he will ever be able to fathom until he has a little one of his own many years from now. My son is my world, and my heart keeps growing. Every time I wake up, I love him more. I look forward to the days when he can start telling me that he loves me. To hear his tiny voice with his love-filled eyes expressing his love.to the moon and back

And I know what my response will be. “I love you more.”

I get it now, Mom.

 

5 Comments

  1. jhwinterauthor

    The first time my son said, “I love you, Mama!” my heart swooned. I only had to prompt him a little. He doesn’t say it often, but when he does it’s an amazing feeling! 🙂 What a lovely post.

    Like

  2. Rhonda Eaton

    I love you more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful post.

    @magickislife from My Creatively Random Life

    Like

  4. Adorable. ^_^

    Like

  5. My mom loved saying “you’ll know when you’re a mother” and I laughed at her. She had her laugh when my son was born and I had that melting moment when I first held him and his tiny fist curled around my finger. 23 years later, my heart is still somewhat of a fist-shaped puddle! This post reminded me of both my mom and my son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

